Memories

Memories are the only thing that remain the same when everything else changes. Memories are the only thing that can be seen not by the eyes and felt whole-heartedly by the heart. Memories are so real yet so unreal, you feel like you can feel like but you can’t. Memories are something you can see when you close your eyes and hear when you put your hands over your ears. Memories are so beautiful, so abstract and yet so real and so taunting. I love my memories with you, just that I don’t know whether I am in love with our memories or am I really in love with you as a person. I look back into the time when we were so close and we could talk every night. I look back into the times when I would switch on my phone just to check whether you have called. I look back into the times when I missed all your texts and calls and I never had a chance to call you back because you were so distance. I look back into the times when I had thrown everything off my shoulders and closed my eyes and leaped fearlessly.

Memories are sort of the only thing that we hold on after everything has changed. We told ourselves that we would be okay and that we could move on without a lot of things. I told myself that moving on without you is is not an issue because I had lived my life so long without you and it doesn’t matter whether you are in my life or not. I will make it and that I will move on. But it doesn’t work that way, it just doesn’t. I miss you every now and then. I want to leave this place sometimes and when I turn back, I would find you standing there for me. I wish it would be you.

But when I close my eyes and imagine walking down a small path, I can see no one but myself.

Leave a Reply

