If you fall for a someone you know will never belong to you

No matter how much we have grown, love is always a maze. There isn’t really an explanation, there really isn’t an understanding. Everyone we fall for, is a little bit different from the others we have loved. We may be more weary, more aware of love, but to fathom love completely would be a task as difficult as reaching out and touching the burning sun.

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me a few things:

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me how precious my relationship is. Every second, every minute, and every moment that I have with him is as precious as the rarest element in universe, because we both know that our little love won’t last forever.

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me how to be patient and listen to the words he says. Knowing that I can’t keep him forever, I have tried my best to keep our moments together a pleasant one, without sacrificing my happiness. Watching him as he describes his day, listening to him as he tells me what he has faced in his day, would become a privilege once I have to let him go. Hence, when I still have the chance, I want to sprawl on him and listen to all he has to say, while I take him in, his body, his essence, and his entire being.

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me to love myself more, as much effort as I have put into my relationship. I have learnt to take better care of myself, because I know very clearly that he won’t be here with me until forever. I have learnt to stay fit and healthy because I know again that he won’t be here forever, and my body and myself will be the only ones that will walk with me until forever. For him, too, for our relationship would one day end and I would want to be his beautiful girl, the girl with a beautiful side that leaves countless beautiful moments together behind.

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me to be more grateful, of him, and of the people I love as I learn that nothing lasts forever, and that my love, no matter how strong it can be, in the end, is as weak as stardust. So beautiful, so fragile, yet just an echo of death. Aren’t we all?

Falling for someone I can never have has taught me not to cry, as each passing moment, painful or not, is still wonderfully beautiful because he is still here, and that I can still hold him, and kiss him good morning and goodnight. I can still wake up from a lazy afternoon nap with him next to me, or go on a vacation and run in the woods with him, without a worry. With him, I have learnt to appreciate every moment in my life, and every moment becomes more significant as we live each passing day.

To all of us who have loved, or loves someone we can never have, remember not to cry because it is over, but be happy because it happened. To all of us who have loved, or loves someone we can never have, remember that the day we let the person we love go, is also the day we seal a thousand beautiful memories into a space that is untouchable. Don’t ruin our memories, our moments, keep them beautiful in this space, and let it all go with grace.

To all of us who have loved, or loves someone we can never have, let’s stay in the space between the right and the wrong, the space where time is stopped, and the illusion of materials is gone, we will meet them there, where nothing is truer than love itself.

 

Leave a Reply

